ABOUT THE ARTIST:
I*A* MOYLES BWS was a member of the Birmingham Watercolour Society which was formed in 1907 and still exists I think, although I have not received a reply to my request for information about the artist.
It would appear that the artist was active between the two World Wars.

IMAGE:

20170331001 2007 ART PICS - IA MOYLES BWS ABERDOVEY 01
I*A* MOYLES – The Bath House Aberdyfi

20170331001 2007 ART PICS - IA MOYLES BWS ABERDOVEY 05

TITLE: The Bath House, Aberdyfi – sigtned lower left

PRICE: £175.00

SPECIFICATION:

MEDIUM: Watercolour

APPROXIMATE SIZE:

Painting: 235 x 344

Frame / Mount: Unframed and Unmounted

ANNOTATIONS:
There are three annotations verso, one states:
1. To Mary      with every good wish from S. Herbert           Easter 1929
2. Aberdovey by the Dovey, N. Wales 5/6 – this one is indistinct a further note is struck
through and difficult to read but looks like – Lined paper
3. A much later note reads ABERDOVEY BY THE RIVER DOVEY NORTH WALES

THE STORY:
Every good painting should have a story to go with it, something to stimulate the imagination.

This is an interesting view of the River Dyfi (Dovey) Estuary with what is now the Aberdovey Institute in the foreground.

The building used to be the bath house where sailors could have a bath and get their laundry done.

The building has been extended since the time of this view.

Aberdovey was, until recently a Port with navigation marks administered by Trinity House.
The last Pilot, Mr Benbow was also Harbour Master.

The port was mainly concerned with the shipping of slate from the quarry at Aberllefenni near Corris where one tunnel extends over a mile into the mountain.

PLEASE NOTE:

I do my best to find out as much as I can about my paintings and the artists who made them.
I also try to give you a little extra information about the subjects shown in my paintings.

I believe that the information above is accurate.

Let me apologise for any errors or typos you may find, they are wholly my own.

Please tell me if my memory has failed me as it sometimes does.

Any images posted with this description form part of the description.
Please ensure you look very carefully at all images and details to make sure that you really really want the picture before you buy or bid.

Thank you for looking at my painting.

Keep safe and well,

Best wishes,

Dai.
email address: DaiOakley@hotmail.com

E&OE